News releases

May 01, 2018

Posted in News Releases

Canada Post announces recipients of annual Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards and opens 2018 application period

Since 2004, more than 300 individuals have now been recognized for their efforts to further their education

May 01, 2018

Posted in News Releases

OTTAWA –Canada Post is proud to announce the winners of the 2017 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards. The awards recognize the efforts and commitment of Canadians of Aboriginal heritage who have chosen to continue school following an absence from formal education. Since 2004, the Awards have recognized more than 300 individuals from across the country.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • British Columbia: Natasha Brooks, Laura McNab-Coombs, Levi Nelson, Lacey-Jade Tallio, Julie Vantunen, Meagan Wilson, Isabelle Williams
  • Alberta: Brye Robertson, Christina Russell, Kristen Swampy
  • Saskatchewan: Yulana Hogue, Alyssa Pelletier
  • Manitoba: Lindsay Bristow, Kendall Dyck, Tyler Koswin, Virginia Spence, Kristen Umpherville
  • Ontario: Tracy Pittman, Lena Shawinimash, Billie-Rose Tomagatick, Elaine Turrie, Gina Wesley
  • Quebec: Nicole Condo Jerome, Allysa Mark
  • Northwest Territories: Erica Abel

In addition, application forms for the 2018 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards are being accepted and are available online. The deadline to apply is August 31, 2018.

The Canada Post Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards are open to all Aboriginal Canadians who have resumed studies and completed one full year or more following a minimum of
12 months out of school. Applicants are required to submit an essay outlining the obstacles and challenges they have overcome in pursuit of a higher education.

Each year, winners are selected from across the country and each is awarded a $1,000 prize.

For more information:
Media relations