News releases

March 17, 2017

Posted in News Releases

2016 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards recipients announced

More than 200 individuals over the last decade recognized for their efforts to continue their education

March 17, 2017

Posted in News Releases

Ottawa (ON) – Canada Post is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards. The awards recognize the efforts and commitment of Canadians of Aboriginal heritage who have chosen to continue school following an absence from formal education. Since 2004, the Awards have recognized more than 200 individuals from across the country.

This year's award recipients are:

  • British Columbia: Janice Wells, Melissa Camsell, Natasha Billy, Theresa Kozma
  • Alberta: April Price, Brittany McNarland, Shelby Brown, Tanis Flett
  • Saskatchewan: Anita Opoonechaw, Bergen Vermette, Jeremy Delorme
  • Manitoba: Amber Fontaine, Danielle Richards, Dinae Robinson, Janis Carpenter, Kimberly Osborne
  • Ontario: Chelsea Mosher-Rae, Erica Martin, Margo Doxtator, Susan Abitong-Solomon
  • Quebec: Melissa Gilpin, Véronique Legault
  • New Brunswick: Kyana Kingbird
  • Nunavut: Madison Cormack

The Canada Post Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards are open to all Aboriginal Canadians who have resumed studies and completed one full year or more following a minimum of 12 months out of school. Applicants are required to submit an essay outlining the obstacles and challenges they have overcome in pursuit of a higher education.

Each year, a selection panel made up of Canada Post representatives and members from the Aboriginal community selects up to 24 winners across the country and awards them each a $1,000 prize.

Information about the Awards and its application process and criteria, including an application FAQ, is available on the Award's website:

For more information:
Media Relations